About Us
The Farmers State Bank has been locally owned and operated since 1919. We invite you to visit any one of our six locations for all of your banking and financial needs.

Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide the best banking service to all customers.

Jack A. Coblentz, Chairman
Carole A. Coblentz
W. Douglas Richardson
Philip R. Nichols
Penelope A. Powell
J. Anthony Brown
Steven A. Bruns
J. Anthony Brown, President/CEO
Terry L. House, Senior Vice President/Senior Loan Officer
Matthew T. Webster, Senior Vice President/CFO
Gail A. Farmer, Assistant Vice President
Chevone M. Singer, Assistant Vice President/Compliance Officer
Diane R. Shuff, Assistant Vice President/Credit Manager
Suzanne K. Anderson, Assistant Vice President/Loan Officer
Kent J. Monnin, Assistant Vice President/Loan Officer
Christopher A. Schoen, Assistant Vice President/Agricultural Loan Officer
Kami D. Hollinger, BSA Officer

The origin of The Farmers State Bank was in 1889 with H. G. Bloom commencing operations of the Farmers Bank.  Mr. Bloom was the sole shareholder and President of the bank until his death in 1907. After his death, the bank moved locations within New Madison and the name was changed to the Farmers Banking Company.

Operation of the Farmer Bank continued until 1919, when a State Banking Charter was obtained and the name was changed to The Farmers State Bank. Over the next several years the ownership of the bank changed as the Bloom family divested their ownership to others within the New Madison community, but the name remained the same. The name was not the only thing that remained the same over the next 95 years.

In 1926, E. H. Coblentz joined the bank as an Assistant Cashier and he continued with the bank until his death in 1967. Mr. Coblentz progressed through the bank to become President and Chairman of the Board of Directors in 1949. E.H. was followed by his son, Clay S. Coblentz, whom assumed the Presidency of the bank until 1983. Clay served as Chairman of the Board of Directors until his death in 1991. Clay son, Jack A. Coblentz, joined the Board of Directors of the bank in 1964 and has in various capacities as a Bank Officer and Director over the years. Jack A. Coblentz is currently the Chairman of the Board of Directors, a position he has occupied for the past several years.

Bank growth was slow and steady for the first fifty years of operation, but in 1969 a new building was constructed at 101 South Main Street, New Madison, Ohio to house the banking operation. Growth opportunities in Darke County Ohio prompted the bank to expand to Greenville, Ohio in 1979 with a location at 1107 Sweitzer Street, Greenville, Ohio, which is across from the Great Darke County Fairgrounds. The first banking center outside of Darke County was opened in 1989 at 618 South Washington Street, New Paris, Ohio.  A second location was opened in Greenville in 1999 at 675 Wagner Avenue. In 2009, a branch was opened in Warren County at 65 West Central Avenue, Springboro, Ohio. The sixth and most recent location was opened in 2014 at 100 North Commerce Street, Lewisburg, Ohio.

We take your privacy and security seriously. If you elect to contact us by e-mail, do not include personal information such as account numbers, social security number, or other personal information because e-mail messages are not secure and may be viewed by others. If you need to send confidential information, please telephone, fax or mail your inquiry or message to us.

©2013 The Farmers State Bank. All rights reserved.